Life of a Sim

When there’s seemingly nothing left to be done
And I’ve forgotten those novels on my shelf: I Capture the Castle and Kafka’s Amerika
I turn on my PC and use “The Sims 2”
There a 3-D world of diverse Sims awaits me
I delete all of my useless characters until I reach the extraterrestrial Smiths

Whose patriarch has a ridiculous name and he hates the General next door

After two hours, Mr. Smith is divorced with a son in college

And a drifter named Goopy GilsCarbo has drowned in the family pool

While the Grim Reaper arrives for Goopy’s soul the screen freezes
The game is now as immobile as a .bmp file on Microsoft Paint
It leaves me to wonder if I have become a Sim to technology.

Leave a Reply

