Homesickness

Back when I searched through wanton weeds for the lone lotus flower

The seasons all looked the same

And my indifference would not glide away

The summer equinox was oblivion

Until I met you on a blossoming hill overlooking your hometown

And I realized that the weeds were vestigial.

Our paths often crossed, no matter how many forks

We made light of Tiger Beat and left darkness for the birds and fish

I’d trade paperbacks for your warmth and intellectualism

And everything would always shine with you

As you’d fill me in on who was shallow and who devious

While we schmoozed by the lake.

As another sun dies down to Earth

I think of stars we should have crossed

I talk of shrinks who said “give up”

But, clenching our story tight

I must be on my way to the moon

Where we can count the constellations in our private hemisphere

And believe that nothing is absurd.

Leave a Reply

