Envy

I envy the woman who is flanked each night

By a man who writes of his passionate love for her

Her elitism makes her offensive to the eye

As I have been called offensive to the nose

And I want to Xerox her man’s love letters

So that I can hawk them to all the other lonely people

Then we will receive our share of swooning

While top-ranking lovers hopelessly shake their fists

And I want to be freed from this white bread penitentiary

So that no self-serving doctor will ever again damn my body

For envying the woman who is flanked each night

By a man who writes of his passionate love for her.

Leave a Reply

