Almost Haven

The lone wolf went to the dogs

I came here in mid-’09 hoping to score a break

This should have been another day in paradise

Instead, I was taught to wander every which way

Staggering from frat to frat

Someone inside me wants to lean on someone else

But there’s no room for that here

I’m an adult, and that’s scarier than being a boy

That being said, I already retreated

I’m not trying hard enough, I’m sure

But one day I’ll live for the moment

Grab the three or four forbidden fruits

And be blessed with a college education

It’s not my fault they kick me around

Regardless of whom I say I am

I hope you can see

I’m not doing a disservice to me

On the contrary

It’s not all in my head.

Leave a Reply

