I Remember You As You Were

I remember you as you were when cars were 25 cents and plastic

When God was alive and Nietzsche was dead

When beds were built for an evening kneel

I remember you would poke your mythologies in my neck

And when the cyberbullies came out to play

You would sit at your parents’ computer for eight hours straight

Trying in vain to persuade the moderators

That as I had written some good Christian poetry in ‘06

I was worth saving
Now I watch you put believers in body bags

I watch you shit on teetotalers, Zionism, and the freedom to choose virginity

And it makes me regret my schoolboy contempt for what you were.

Leave a Reply

