A Nifty Little Lifetime

Finally I will agree that camp is life for everyone
Whether they have truthfully lived every moment
Or spent as little time outside as a hermit

And before Santa Rosa falls into the sea

I will be a counselor and not a chest

I will eliminate any doubt

That there was a breakthrough summer

Campers who once shared bathroom slumbers

Will leave the BK for the sanctuary

And learn to love their nifty little lifetimes

I achieved my goals, Nate Perch

But I never did outgrow camp

Nor did camp ever outgrow me

Others may concentrate on the details
I concentrate on this life
And keep on traveling upward with a cabin in my palm
I may have stumbled, but I’ll never crash on my way up.

Leave a Reply

