Junk

Yesterday, Tony drove south from the Evergreen State University

And told me that he mistook black tar junk for poppies

Now I wish that I could have changed the life of my friend

So that Laverne would never let him binge over by the train station

Just like Kerouac did when he lived in town

The others don’t pity Tony, alive or drugged

They think everything’s his fault

And I still wish I could have made a difference in the life of my friend

So that I won’t have to watch Tony erupt

He’s using drugs that Kerouac himself never dreamed up.

Leave a Reply

