Mortality

I feel like an old man when I realize all my good friends are dying off

I’m losing them to LSD, the War in Iraq, and the Los Angeles County Jail

And my brief reencounters are always sad and disappointing

I want to keep my youth, but I don’t want to take my friends’ freedom

And then I realize that an old man lacks the time I still have

So I head to the Kennedy Library and check out all the books I can still finish

Halfway through Crime and Punishment, I rejoice, but still hope that my friends are soon freed

From LSD, the War in Iraq, and the Los Angeles Country Jail.

Leave a Reply

