Space Cake Cookies

The space cake cookies that Jennifer baked me were so potent

That when we made love, it was as if I were asleep

And the best night of my life seems to be an elaborate dream

Some of the moments have escaped me, but they occasionally appear

In the middle of my working day as instant but wonderful flashes

And how Jennifer regretted telling me of her Roger

Whose hours as a barista were lightened by the secret ingredients she’d sneak into the pastries

And who took all the credit for the better qualities of the baked goods

I wonder if she bakes the same space cake cookies for Roger

And if when they make love, it is as if he is asleep

And if the best nights of his life seem to be elaborate dreams.

Leave a Reply

