Confidence

Confidence hasn’t aided me yet, so will it ever?

When I was constructed of self-doubt more people took a liking to me

They envied my edge, comparing me to Salinger and Bukowski

Just like they still weep for Cobain while thousands of today’s live talents remain small and unsigned

Now they have nothing to compare me to, so they politely nod and misunderstand

 

And confidence so quickly disintegrates into arrogance

Soon I’ll be reminding them all that I’m the Ubermensch

And that they’re the Last Men

I got a D+ in Nietzsche, so, really, what do I know?

For the time being, I am not a slave to arrogance

So I must nurture my confidence

And start to aid it myself.

Leave a Reply

