Waking Up

 

I woke up from a dream in which Barack Obama legalized marijuana

It was only one of several legalizations to benefit the economy

But this one stood out, and we all cheered when the plant appeared on the tube

 

But when I woke up, all I saw was my 3 AM dorm room

My roommate shushed my sleep-cheering

He shushed me back into sleep

I woke up from a dream in which Barack Obama led the human race to peace

And I woke up from a dream in which Obama led the chimpanzee to evolution

I woke up from a dream in which a band outsold the Beatles

And I woke up from a dream in which all four members were talented than John

 

I woke up from a dream where I married Anne Frank’s granddaughter

And I woke up from a dream where FOX News was pay-per-view

I woke up from a dream where we all left God alone

And I woke up from a dream where autistic kids all won prizes

For putting up with the bullshit that we gave them for their lives

 

And I woke up to my roommate’s snoring; I woke up to “get the fuck outta bed”

I woke up knowing I’d never fulfill my dreams and I woke up to fulfill my dreams

 

I woke up in Seattle after marrying Frances Bean Cobain

I woke up in the Castro after Prop 8 was erased

I woke up in Santa Fe after I killed all the walking dead

And I didn’t get arrested, the cops coveted my head

Everyone knew I’d go far as I drove that classy car

And they loved my every rhyme; I was Dylan in his prime.

Leave a Reply

