Song to Danny Saucedo

I’m out here a couple miles from my home

Walking a road that Weird Al once walked down

I’m seeing a world of people and things

And like you I’ll sing of it, except without strings

 

Danny Saucedo, I wrote you this song

About a nifty little lifetime we shared for long

I might teach the children a prose poem or two

I wouldn’t be anywhere if I hadn’t met you

 

Danny Saucedo, they say I’m obsessed

They say my love for your work is a sign I’m a mess

Whenever they say that I tread alone

You are the force behind most of my poems

 

Here’s to Blotner and Bandler, Jon’s keyboard too

And all the good people who traveled with you

Here’s to the heart and the mind of the man

Who knows that I am the true also ran.

Leave a Reply

