The Restroom Incident?

The day before WOW week, I snuck into the women’s restroom on the second floor of the Journalism/Graphic Communications building.  Seeing no plaque reading “Weird Al Yankovic recorded ‘My Bologna’ here,” I ran out the door and snuck into the first floor women’s restroom.  I had no luck there either.  This situation, which to most people is either a crime or the mark of a social pariah, was a failed attempt to get to know one of my many musical influences intimately.  I still plan on recording some tracks in whatever girls’ bathroom it was.  However, the point of this anecdote is that KCPR accepts all kinds of music experts.  I frequently namecheck Frank Zappa and Captain Beefheart in my poetry.  I’ve both covered and performed “Take Me Down,” Yankovic’s first song, an irreverent ode to San Luis Obispo.  I’ve created rap songs with beats from Jack Kerouac’s bop poetry readings!  While I may not be your average music expert, I realize and KCPR realizes that music experts should not be average.  I’ve been looking for a group of people who I can talk to about Tom Waits, Dan Bern, Leonard Cohen, and maybe even The Elaborate Fantasy Machine.  I’ve been looking for an opportunity to share my eclectic tastes in music with the world.  Just like the angry, rebellious boy in the picture, I desperately need to get away from my immediate family and join a nontraditional musical family: KCPR.

I recall an old KCPR bumper sticker from my childhood which read “We top your taco.”  Instead of making a lame joke about the 1980s musician Taco, most famous for his cover of the big band hit “Puttin’ on the Ritz,” I will simply confirm that any radio station which hires guys who record in women’s restroom does indeed top my taco.

 

Leave a Reply

